Super Silly Editing Challenge: The Results

Posted: June 11, 2016 in Fun and Games, Short Story
Tags: , , ,

Two weeks ago I posted the Super Silly Editing Challenge. The story was written using only random sentence generators, and the point was to find sense in nonsense. Sadly, there were no participants to showcase this week. I still would like to see what other people come up with, and if anyone ever does, let me know!

And now the results of Sense in Nonsense.

The chill night air is oily from the afternoon street fair. A fire eater is seen bathing in the fountain. John runs by, clucking his tongue at such an unsanitary sight. The glamorous effect of the performer is broken by his disregard of the law.

“The police will arrest him for such a display,” the lovely secretary says.

Passion or serendipity has presented itself.

John is discouraged by the lawlessness and says, “Three times last week I saw a suspicious worm shake hands with an unsavory character.”

“You must be joking!” The lovely secretary is drawn into conversation.

“Let me sit by you and we can talk. I prefer it to sitting over here.”

“What is wrong with that seat?” the lovely secretary asks, looking at the seat curiously.

Taking advantage of her distraction, he sits beside her. The lovely secretary is surprised but doesn’t challenge him.

John makes and attempt at small-talk. “I would like very much to see pictures of you.”

The lovely secretary dodges the request with a smile. “You have very large nostrils for such a small gentleman.”

Her observations makes John feel like a fool. “How could I garner your attraction?”

“I am rather discriminating when it comes to love.”

John feels regret having asked, but has another trick up his sleeve. He can sense there is still a chance to win her favor!

“I have a large septic boil on my back.”

The lovely secretary fidgets at the revelation.

“Would you burst it for me please?” A wide smile stretches John’s face.

The disgusting request is granted. The lovely secretary squeeze’s John’s boil with unexpected strength. She strains against the abscess. A wash of  liquid begins to leak through. John’s boil explodes with a puss the color of custard and leaks down his back in a wide stream.

She recoils in horror. Even compliments cannot change what she has witnessed, and any attraction she felt evaporates.

John pulls away from the lovely secretary and regains his focus. “I needed your help this tonight.”

“Any cheerful memories we may have shared have been spoiled,” she confesses.

“Then I do not see why I should thank you for your help.”

“How do you think that makes me feel? Your confusing behavior is not enough to form an attraction!” the lovely secretary says, but knows he will not understand.

“Your unhappiness confuses me. Why can’t you at least pretend you love me?”

“I do not reciprocate your feelings, and any chance of doing so is fast evaporating,” the lovely secretary sighs.

John’s anger thunders through his mind. “I was an idiot to talk with you.”

“I was equally stupid to help you.”

The truth deflates John’s ego. “All of my hope is gone.”

“If you don’t want to lose an opportunity, John, then be grateful when people help you.”

-FIN-

_______________________________________________________

Is it the best story ever? No! But it was fun to challenge myself this way. Perhaps I will hold another Super Silly Editing Challenge in the future.

In other news, we are only one week away from launch day of Darkness Falling: Shadow of the Seeker! I will not be posting a character analysis this week due to having a lot to do before the 18th. I am working on a couple at the moment, however; and hope to be posting them on a regular basis soon!

Thank you for reading and feel free to leave a comment or critique. See you next week!

Leave a Reply

