Special Edition: Sneak Preview of Gary the Arrogant Unicorn

Posted: April 9, 2016 in Fun and Games, Short Story
Tags: , , ,

Hey, everyone! I normally wouldn’t post twice in one day, but it’s National Unicorn Day! I never even knew that was a thing. One of my other projects outside of Darkness Falling is a fantasy comedy, the title of which is a secret. It’s far in the future but I thought I would share a scene of one of my favorite characters.

unicornexcerpt

A soft, golden glow filtered down through the trees and a warm breeze lifted Melysoni’s hair. The forest came alive with birdsong, but not the usual chatter. It sounded as if a symphony came alive in glorious harmony. Raising her head, she watched a shimmering white light trotting up the shallow creek and was overcome by the beauty as the unicorn came into focus. He slowing as he approached, nickering quietly when he stopped near where she knelt.

“I can’t believe you’re real,” she said, reaching a timid hand toward his nose.

“Whoa, whoa, whoa,” the unicorn danced away, tossing his head. “What do you think you’re doing?”

Melysoni froze, hand still raised and eyes wide in surprise. “I… was going to pet you.”

“Pet me? Pet me? What do I look like, a loyal hound?” He snorted, stepping farther away.

“I’m sorry, I didn’t…”

“Did you even wash your hands? You’re out here crawling around in the muck. Look at this coat,” he turned his head to indicate his glistening white flank. “Do you know how hard it is to stay this pristine? I don’t want your grubby hands rubbing all over my shine. Got it?”

Melysoni was speechless for a moment, but nodded to avoid angering the unicorn any farther. Her eyes traced up to his slender, yet extremely pointy, horn. Perhaps he wouldn’t run her through for fear of blood stains, but she didn’t want to take the chance.

“This is what I get for deciding to stop to drink beside a peasant. Can’t a guy want a little company while he sips without everyone getting up in his face?”

“I’m sorry,” Melysoni said again, beginning to feel annoyed. She turned away to resume filling her water skin.

“What’s a sylph like you doing way out here, anyway? Shouldn’t you be in a tree somewhere playing the harp?”

“I don’t play the harp. I was one of Zabnar’s warriors.”

“Oh. Ooooh. That’s why I was drawn to you. You’re probably in need of some type of soul healing or something. That’s the problem with being a creature of purity, I’m always drawn to helping the tainted. It’s a pain in the tail.”

Melysoni shrugged. “It’s fine, you don’t have to help me. I certainly didn’t ask for anything.”

“Doesn’t matter, it’s my job.” He nickered again, then stamped a foot. “I’m Gary.”

Melysoni frowned. “Gary? What kind of name is that for a unicorn?”

“It’s a damn fine name, that’s what it is.”

________________________________

I hope you enjoyed this super sneak peek! Happy National Unicorn Day!

Comments
  1. […] second animal sidekick is Gary the Arrogant Unicorn. I posted an excerpt of him here on my blog when I first came up with the idea. Gary is a verbal character and he also […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

