Upcoming Changes

Posted: February 27, 2016 in Uncategorized

White Plum Blossoms, Flowers Of Early Spring, Plum

In the upcoming weeks I’m going to start making a few changes here at the blog. These changes will hopefully be for the better. If you’re wondering why I’m going to make changes, it’s because I want this blog to feel a little more alive.

First, there will be more posts. That doesn’t mean there will be posts every day, but just more often. I will continue with my weekly post on writing, musings,  and random rants as usual. The new posts will not be scheduled and be more of a “I have something to share” type of formatting. Some of these posts will be reviews!

Hurray!

First and foremost will be books by indie authors.  Before anyone gets too excited, I have some rules for my review.

1)      I will not be taking requests or submissions. The reason for this is that I’m a very slow reader. I also have a full time job, three kids, a husband, a new dog, and am writing and editing. On top of that, I struggle with concentration. Therefore, I will be choosing the books myself and already have a stack of them in my phone waiting to be read. You can check which book I’m reading and which books I have waiting in cue on my GoodReads profile.

2)      At this time I will only be reading eBooks. I don’t have a lot of money to spend on books, and eBooks are cheaper or free. I also prefer eBooks. Although paperbacks have their special place with their mystical smell and fluttery pages, they are heavy and clunky and don’t have their own light source. My phone is also with me at all times, which makes it easy to sneak a paragraph when I can.

3)      I will only review books with less than 20 reviews, and particularly I’m aiming at books with 10 or fewer reviews. My goal is to find those diamonds in the rough, because I know they are out there waiting to be discovered.

4)      I also will only post reviews if I have positive things to say about a book. Even if I give a book a low number of stars, I’m more interested in providing constructive criticisms and pointing out the good things an author has accomplished. My goal with these reviews is to show support to other indie authors, not to make people feel bad about themselves and their writing. We’re all on a journey which requires learning. Perhaps some people are publishing too soon, but bashing a book for lack of polish is not my goal.

Besides book reviews, I’m going to start discussing things I enjoy. That means I’m going to start talking more about my favorite shows and video games. In a little over a week Tom Clancey’s The Division is coming out. This is not a book but a game that I’m very excited to play. I’ll probably be doing my own player based review here on the blog. I’m also a big fan of MMOs and RPGs, which means you can expect me to talk about games like World of Warcraft, Guild Wars 2, Final Fantasy, Skyrim, and so on.

Shows you can expect me to talk about are The Walking Dead, Jane the Virgin, Supergirl, Elementary, and The Shannara Chronicles. That’s not a definitive list, just an example. I don’t really get to see movies until they’ve been out for a while, so I might not talk about those as much.

I’m also considering sharing some of my art and have an idea for a new comic. I’ll be upfront and say that I’m not the best artist but I’m not terrible, either. We’ll see, though, since I don’t want to overwhelm myself.

Anyway, those are the upcoming changes I have in mind. I’ll be posting my first book review later this week!

Comments
  1. giffmacshane says:

    Sounds great! Best of luck!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

