Editing for Book Two: Untangling

Posted: November 14, 2015 in Writing News
Tags: , ,

Now that Book One of Darkness Falling is available on Amazon, I’ve started the editing and rewriting process of Book Two. This time, part of the process will be easier. For example, I already understand the formatting that will be required for publishing and am writing with the proper styles intact. I also already have a font for my cover for uniformity, although I’m still working on getting an image.

The editing process itself is a little more daunting. Cutting a single work into smaller pieces is not as easy as it seems, especially when many pieces have already been rearranged from the original. Parts of what was originally “Part Two” and even “Part Three” of the story now already appear in Book One for better continuity and character development. I’ve also reworked entire plot arcs.

Book One was very straightforward in that it has a definitive beginning, middle and end. Book Tow, however; doesn’t have a clear starting point when I look at how things were rearranged. That means, rewriting and adding what isn’t there and putting what is there in the correct order. Untangling the Plot

I envision it being very much like untangling a strand of Christmas lights. Each scene is like a bulb which either glows brightly or needs replacing, all the while you’re trying to get them to fall into the right order, (only to later wind them around and around the main themes of the story.) The goal in the end is to make a shimmering strand along which the readers are guided.

With the rewrite, I’ve also come to a point where I can make some changes that will build upon the world without over flooding the reader with an info dump. New questions and answers that will add to entire story are always a good thing. I’m looking forward to seeing how these changes effect my world in general and what new possibilities they will create.

Thank you for reading and I will see you next week!

Leave a Reply

